Software Engineer’s Blog

Software Engineering weblog

Software engineering paradox

I think, most frequently used definition of Software engineering involve ‘…application of a systematic, disciplined, quantifiable approach to the development, operation, and maintenance….’; quite rightly so

Paradox that I see:
I have not come across any universally accepted (meaning, not colored by vendor claims or any party with vested interest) quantified benefit derived out of adoption of a specific solution. For instance, what is the magnitude of benefit that object oriented approach has brought in; or for that matter, architecture centric approach, design patterns, iterative development, agile methodologies

I am aware of successes in adoption and I have seen failures as well. My intention is not to question but I have not come across any specific, undisputed/uncolored proof that a scientific/engineering discipline demands

I believe, now is a right time to introspect as we take a pause and look forward to a new beginning

Watch discussion on this, in Software Engineering group in Linkedin

December 26, 2008 - Posted by | Agile, Product Engineering, software engineering

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 671 other followers

