Software Engineer’s Blog

Software Engineering weblog

Further on software testing paradox

Taking discussion on software testing paradox further:
Thanks for the active discussion on the topic. I appreciate the view points expressed here.

One common thread that runs through all comments being the developer himself is doing/expected to do quite a bit of testing of what he makes. I find that common thread also running through the earlier quoted article Commitment, The privilege and responsibility of software development, Test Driven Development and also in the code of ethics for software engineering published by IEEE.

Spirit is the same but when it comes to practice, naturally, business and commercial priorities take over and focus is primarily on delivery of code.

I have no intention to deride developers, or any other stakeholders. I do my bit of coding these days as well, and I do test, I manage projects and I manage customers. As a manager, I trust my team and my experience is that team delivers best in high trust environment. As a developer, I would not (I believe, no professional would) like to have bugs in the software. (After all, it is my baby; why should that be inferior?) Again, business/commercial considerations are not bad; the very reason for we being where we are. If my manager is expecting something out of me, or my team, it is for a good reason

I agree with statements of conventional wisdom: Developer needs to test their code. Testing needs to be done at the unit, integration, system and user acceptance levels. Defects discovered earlier the cheaper and the better. Testing needs to check that software does what it is supposed to do and also check that software does not do what it is not supposed to do.

With current year is coming to an end, getting into new year with a lot of expectation, a hope for a better tomorrow, I would like to ponder on ‘can our life be better?’; hopefully, the right time to spare a little thought, spend a little time on seventh habit (“Sharpen the saw”) of ‘The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People’? After all, if we do more or less the same thing, it is natural that we get more or less the same results. Can we do something different to retain/increase productivity and quality without increasing cost? That could help us when purse strings are tight

December 29, 2008 - Posted by | software engineering, Software Quality, Software Testing, Testing, Uncategorized

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

