Software Engineer’s Blog

Software Engineering weblog

Patterns of healthy business: Flow of Information

Of late, I have started writing about business. Why?

I am not a management student. My endeavors in software engineering are driven primarily by my customer’s business interest rather than academic enthusiasm. There is academic dimension but that is set in the context of larger business interest rather than as an end in itself. This takes me closer to business and, more than often that not, I find that I need to work beyond the confines of software engineering for the success of software engineering efforts. That led me analyzing business. I have worked with many business organizations in the past, some of them doing great and some of them dying within. I find certain patterns revealing itself, on closer analysis.

What distinguishes a healthy business from a bad one? We come across this question often. We come across this question as managers, while looking for a change of job as well as investors. Question is, whom can I depend?

I would rather depend on someone who can conduct himself/herself well. It does not so much matter, whether he/she is favorably positioned to me or not. That can be reasoned, way forward can be made, a win-win relation can be worked out and success is achievable. The same goes for business as well. I would go with a business that conducts itself well and in a dignified manner.

One characteristic of such a healthy business is free flow of information. Information is like blood of the organization. We know that a portion of body goes dead in due course, when blood supply is cut. Information much reach every part of the organization just as blood need to reach the entire body.

It does not mean that everyone should know everything. There are certain things that any/every one should know. There are certain things that any/every one need not know. There are certain things that any/every one must not know. Overflow of information and spikes in information flow are equally bad as lack of information. Flow of information should dictated and regulated by analysis of what each unit or a person must know, may know and should not know.

Taking the analogy further, poisoned information flow can be fatal to health of the organization, just as in case of venom circulation in blood. Degree of damage would depend on the kind of venom and degree of poisoning

Major variations from this dictate is a symptom of a deeper problem within and a cause of concern

October 7, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

