Software Engineer’s Blog

Software Engineering weblog

Bridging the language barrier!

I have been using the browser Chrome for past few months, switching from Firefox which had been my favorite browser. Of late, I have noticed it prompts for translation when it comes across a different language and it does translation good enough for my purpose.

I believe it is pretty decent addition to the feature list, nevertheless very powerful.

Is that perfect enough? Does it meet up to standards required for professional work environment? I do not know and I do not care for now. In any case, I would expect quality of translation to improve

I had seen translation working wonders with Google Wave. Now I am impressed with this being extended to Chrome. I like it because it opens a whole world of knowledge. An interesting innovation ….

I am also terrified of the level of consolidation of knowledge and potential security/privacy concerns. Information that was constrained in the past, into a group with language, structural (eg. knowledge codified in ancient books in sanskrit), and regional limitations are getting into open. Are we, as a race, yet ready for the possibilities and challenges that it is throwing up?

May 15, 2010 - Posted by | Google, Uncategorized, User Experience, UX

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

